How to Complete Your ACA – Network Security Certification?

Posted by:


Post Date:

In the world of technology, network security has become a crucial aspect of any organization. With the increasing number of cyber threats, it's essential to have professionals with adequate knowledge and skills to protect networks from attacks. One way to demonstrate your expertise in network security is by obtaining the ACA - Network Security certification. This certification is one of the HPE certifications that validate your ability to describe common security threats and vulnerabilities, including device hardening, implementation of security at the edge with AAA, basic roles and firewall policies, and more. But how to complete the ACA - Network Security certification. In this blog, we will answer all your questions about the ACA - Network Security certification one by one.

What is ACA - Network Security Certification?

The ACA - Network Security certification stands as a prominent credential within the realm of HPE Networking certifications. Prospective candidates suitable for pursuing this certification are anticipated to encompass the roles of a network engineer or a help desk engineer, operating within the domains of customer-centric or partner-centric environments. A prerequisite for these candidates involves an experiential span of six months to a year, dedicated to the intricacies of networking, spanning both wired and wireless dimensions.

The ACA - Network Security certification serves as a testament to one's capacity to elucidate prevalent security jeopardies and susceptibilities, underpinned by a comprehensive comprehension of the subsequent focal points:

  1. Rigorous fortification of devices
  2. Execution of security measures at the periphery via AAA protocols
  3. Fundamental delineation of roles and establishment of firewall policies
  4. Implementation of dynamic segmentation protocols
  5. Classification of endpoints
  6. Assimilation of rudimentary threat detection technologies
  7. Proficiency in amassing logs and interpreting alarms.

How to Obtain ACA - Network Security Certification?

To obtain the ACA - Network Security certification, you need to complete the requirements as specified by HPE. What are the requirements?

For New Candidates to ACA - Network Security Certification: No prerequisite is required, just pass the HPE6-A78 Aruba Certified Network Security Associate Exam successfully. It serves as a validation mechanism for candidates, assessing their aptitude, proficiency, and capability to articulate prevalent security hazards and susceptibilities. This assessment gauges a candidate's comprehension of diverse areas including device fortification, the deployment of security protocols at the network periphery utilizing AAA methodologies, foundational role delineation and firewall policy establishment, dynamic segmentation methodologies, and the classification of endpoints. Additionally, the examination encompasses rudimentary threat detection technologies, as well as the aptitude to aggregate and interpret logs and alarms.

For Recertification: Also, no prerequisite is required, but complete one of the following requirements:

  • HPE6-A78 Aruba Certified Network Security Associate Exam
  • HPE7-A02 Aruba Certified Network Security Professional Exam: It serves as a comprehensive validation of your proficiency, competencies, and capacity concerning intermediate-level security paradigms. This evaluative process encompasses a spectrum of proficiencies, encompassing the implementation of Zero Trust Security protocols and the safeguarding of networks against potential threats. Furthermore, it evaluates your adeptness in configuring Aruba network infrastructure alongside ClearPass solutions to execute authentication and regulation procedures for users across both wired and wireless domains. The assessment also encompasses the adept collection of diverse contextual insights within the ClearPass Policy Manager framework. In addition, it scrutinizes your prowess in the deployment of advanced role mapping and enforcement policies, and also, it assesses your skill set in leveraging ClearPass Device Insight to augment overall network visibility, thereby fostering a comprehensive assessment of your capabilities in this multifaceted domain.
  • HPE6-A84 Aruba Certified Network Security Expert Written Exam: It tests your ability to design, deploy, integrate, and articulate a PKI solution (when to use, what to recommend), architect an enterprise-class network design that aligns with security policies, design role-based access control scheme using ClearPass/AOS/AOS-CX, architect a solution that integrates ecosystem partners (identity partners, MDM, firewall, endpoint security), architect an enterprise-wide endpoint classification policy, design, and deploy proactive remediation, and use ClearPass Device Insight.
  • Aruba Certified Edge Associate (ACEA): This is a HPE certification which validates that you have achieved three of the five associate-level Aruba certifications. As an Aruba Certified Edge Associate, you have demonstrated the knowledge and skills required for an Aruba certified individual at the associate level in at least three of the areas (Mobility, Design, Switching, ClearPass, Security, Campus Access)


In conclusion, the ACA - Network Security certification is an excellent way to demonstrate your expertise in network security. It's designed to equip individuals with the skills necessary to understand and describe common security threats and vulnerabilities, implement device hardening, and develop basic roles and firewall policies. By obtaining this certification, you will be able to advance your career in network security and become a valuable asset to any organization.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *